#BookReview The Other Times of Caroline Tangent

I bet the author of this fabulous story enjoyed the research part of the book writing process. Can you imagine the music joy which must have come from researching time travel and iconic music concerts and festivals in history? As someone who has recently reverted back to vinyl and is busy working her way through an old record collection this book was the perfect accompaniment.

Here’s the blurb:

If you could travel back in time to see any concert, who would you go to see?

Caroline Tangent’s husband, Jon has invented a time machine so they can visit iconic gigs in history: Woodstock, David Bowie, Edith Piaf in 1930’s Paris – an inexhaustible bucket-list. But they can’t tell anyone they’re doing so.

As their trips to the past continue, they begin to realise how it could change a devastating moment from their own past. But for Caroline, it’s clear they don’t want the same outcome.

Until, on one trip, one of them does something unthinkable which will change both their lives forever.

For fans of Matt Haig, Claire North and Audrey Niffenegger.

Here’s my review:

What a premise! All I could say when I read the blurb was – ‘WOW.’

This book is fascinating. If you have wondered what it was like to go to a music festival in the 70s, a concert in the 30’s or see The Beetles live in a pub in Liverpool this book will take you there complete with a guide on fashion at the time. I loved how Jon and Caroline trawled E-Bay for clothing prior to each trip back in time.

Time travel doesn’t always run smoothly for Jon and Caroline. There are a few hazards to time travel which I had never given much thought to and as I read this book my brain was boggling. There is also the idea that they could potentially use it to fix a past mistake.

It is a captivating read and it makes you think about what lengths you would go to change past events in your life.

In terms of plot twists this author knows what he’s doing. I don’t want to give the game away and this is one of the frustrating things about book reviews, I went to talk about it but at same time I don’t want to spoil it. Just prepare yourself…

This book has come into my life at the right time. Like people entering your life I strongly believe books and stories come to us when we need them. Someone very close to me is terribly poorly and they are a huge music fan. This book has been a form of therapy for me.

Posted by

Still waiting for the Sleepless in Seattle film sequel. Romcom Author. Book Blogger. Mum of teens. Owned by a golden Labrador.

6 thoughts on “#BookReview The Other Times of Caroline Tangent

  1. Yes – if we could only go back in time and change past events – our lives could have been so different.
    The music still remains…..

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.