The secrets of meadow Farmhouse #bookreview @KatieGAuthor #thesecretsofmeadowfarmhouse

#KatieGinger

Wow – what a fabulous book!

I could tell this book was written from the heart. Books are different and almost magical when the story comes from something embedded deep inside the author. As readers we pick up on things like this and I do think those stories which come direct from the heart make the books vibrate at a different frequency to others. I know it sounds woo woo but I read a lot of books and I can tell which ones are fuelled by something else other than a story, plot and characters. It’s usually these books which stay with us in our minds.

Once I got to the end and read the acknowledgements I understood why this book had had such a profound effect on me. This book was inspired by by the author’s great-grandparents’ heartrending romance.

I finished this book and felt like I had experienced something. The author had slipped me into the shoes of her characters and allowed me to live out parts of their life.

Here’s the blurb:

Escape to the countryside with a heart-warming new novel from Katie Ginger, author of Snowflakes at Mistletoe Cottage.
Amelia loves her life in Paris. But with the surprise inheritance of her childhood home, Meadow Farmhouse, she has no choice but to return to the small village of Meadowbank to restore her great-aunt’s old farmhouse. However returning to Meadowbank means she has to confront her past, including old flame Adam.

When Amelia discovers a locket hidden in the farmhouse, containing the picture of a mysterious World War Two soldier, she starts to uncover the secrets of her great-aunt’s past and is drawn further into village life. Shocked by the warm welcome from the villagers and her own surprising feelings for first love Adam, Amelia is suddenly confused as to where she truly belongs.

Can Amelia finally confront her own past and find where her heart truly calls home?

Fans of Rachael Lucas, Cathy Bramley and Jenny Colgan will fall in love with Katie Ginger!

Here’s my review:

This book tugged on all my heartstrings.

The prologue to this book was beautifully written and the ending will leave you in shock. I read this prologue while eating a huge piece of cake and I tell you the ending left me open mouthed and my wedge of cake hung in mid air. I want to talk about the name of the character who left me in this state but I don’t want to ruin it.

I loved the main character of Amelia. At the start of the story she’s living her best single life in Paris. News of the death of her Great Aunt Vera is the catalyst which sends her back to Meadow Farmhouse and it also awakens memories of her difficult relationship with her late Great Aunt Vera and life at Meadow Farmhouse when she was younger. I particularly like Amelia’s arrival back into the little village where she spent her teenage years. Everyone one was surprised to see her back and the village gossips were out in force. Throughout the book there was this great contrast of her old Paris life and the new life which was on offer to her in Meadow Farmhouse.

During this book I was determined to find out some key things: what secrets had Great Aunt Vera hidden in the farmhouse, when was Amelia going to get it on with hero Adam, her old flame, because the chemistry between them was making me sit by my electric fan and was Amelia going to stay in Meadow Farmhouse and not go back to Paris? Oh my goodness these 3 things kept me glued right till the end.

The story kept unfolding in this book which I loved. It was like something mysterious being carefully unwrapped.

I loved Adam. He was brilliant and such a keeper!

Fabulous read and one I won’t forget in a hurry. Such a good story and my advice to you – have a box of tissues ready 😍

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/2SIzxIU

Author Bio –

KATIE GINGER lives by the sea in the south-east of England, and apart from holidays to very hot places where you can sit by a pool and drink cocktails as big as your head, she wouldn’t really want to be anywhere else. The Secrets of Meadow Farmhouse is her seventh novel. She is also the author of the Swallowtail Bay series – Spring Tides at Swallowtail Bay, Summer Strawberries at Swallowtail Bay and Winter Wishes at Swallowtail Bay, Snowflakes at Mistletoe Cottage and the Seafront series – The Little Theatre on the Seafront, shortlisted for the Katie Fforde Debut Novel of the Year award, and Summer Season on the Seafront.
When she’s not writing, Katie spends her time with her husband and two kids, and their dogs: Wotsit, the King Charles spaniel, and Skips, the three-legged rescue dog. (And yes, they are both named after crisps!)

For more about Katie, you can visit her website: http://www.keginger.com, find her on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/KatieGAuthor, or follow her on Twitter: @KatieGAuthor..

Posted by

Still waiting for the Sleepless in Seattle film sequel. Romcom Author. Book Blogger. Mum of teens. Owned by a golden Labrador.

2 thoughts on “The secrets of meadow Farmhouse #bookreview @KatieGAuthor #thesecretsofmeadowfarmhouse

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.