#BookReview Under a Siena Sun @TAWilliamsBooks #bookish #romance

#Amreading #BookBlog

Don’t you just love a book which whisks you off to a different world and slips you into the shoes of someone leading an interesting life?

The prologue of this book; Under a Siena Sun by T.A Williams, did remind me of one of my favourite TV shows – Our Girl and all I will say is that this book has one hell of a prologue! When I picked up this book I wasn’t expecting what was in store for me but I have to say – all credit to the author who made me feel like I was a medic in a war torn part of Africa.

Here’s the blurb:

Lucy needed a change of scene. She didn’t expect the change of a lifetime.
Doctors Without Borders has been Lucy Young’s life for the past four years. After being rescued from a conflict zone, she’s making a change from saving lives under gunfire to practising medicine in safe, serene Siena.

Now treating wealthy patients at a private clinic, she’s never felt less comfortable. She’s used to helping those in dire need – not those in need of a nip and tuck.

Her turmoil grows when she encounters injured tennis star David Lorenzo, whose smiles make Lucy forget her aversion to the rich.

She’s soon falling for the sportsman but is she losing herself in this world of excess? All she’s ever wanted was to help the underprivileged, so can her future lie in Siena at the clinic – with David?

This sunny romance is the perfect summer escape for fans of Lucy Coleman and Alex Brown.

Here’s my review:

I liked the main character of Lucy a lot. She’s a strong female lead and a bit of a heroine in my eyes, with her medical career in Africa and her beliefs on helping others who can’t help themselves. I also knew the person who would capture her heart had to be someone who would not only support her but also be on her wavelength. I could see why she struggled at times with David, the former tennis champion and his extravagant lifestyle.

One of the standouts were the fabulous descriptions of Siena, Lucy’s gorgeous cottage and Italian cuisine. Midway through the book I was googling the hell out of Siena and dropping big hints to my loved one about future holiday destinations.

To my delight this book contains a gorgeous chocolate Labrador called Boris and he stole my heart. Every good romance needs a Boris!

David turned out to be an interesting character. Underneath his troubled exterior he was actually a decent guy and I thought his grand gesture at the end was amazing.

This book was an uplifting read. A thought provoking romance in a beautiful setting.

Purchase Links
http://mybook.to/SienaSun
https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/under-a-siena-sun

Author Bio – I’m a man. And a pretty old man as well. I did languages at university a long time ago and then lived and worked in France and Switzerland before going to Italy for seven years as a teacher of English. My Italian wife and I then came back to the UK with our little daughter (now long-since grown up) where I ran a big English language school for many years. We now live in a sleepy little village in Devonshire. I’ve been writing almost all my life but it was only seven years ago that I finally managed to find a publisher who liked my work enough to offer me my first contract.


The fact that I am now writing romantic comedy is something I still find hard to explain. My early books were thrillers and historical novels. Maybe it’s because there are so many horrible things happening in the world today that I feel I need to do my best to provide something to cheer my readers up. My books provide escapism to some gorgeous locations, even if travel to them is currently difficult.

Social Media Links –
Website: http://www.tawilliamsbooks.com
Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/tawilliamsbooks
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TrevorWilliamsBooks/

Posted by

Still waiting for the Sleepless in Seattle film sequel. Romcom Author. Book Blogger. Mum of teens. Owned by a golden Labrador.

One thought on “#BookReview Under a Siena Sun @TAWilliamsBooks #bookish #romance

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.