#BookReview The Greatest of Enemies @BRMaycock #Friendship

Don’t you just love an author who has a great sense of humour?

I got the chance to virtually meet Berni, the author, of The Greatest of Enemies, at a Chicklit & Prosecco event on Facebook. This was before I read her book. She’s a funny lady and I found myself thinking I bet she makes her readers laugh.

Well she did just that with me…

Here’s the blurb:

Get ready for fireworks as two women with very different personalities become housemates!

Bex has settled in well into the small town of Abbeyglen. Yes, she misses her housemate Holly, but she has plenty to do what with the setup of the new Caulfield’s café, her blogging and of course her work in Blackwater Financial Services.

Louise is shocked when she arrives in the town of Abbeyglen to find it has changed, everything looks too new and shiny, and who is this person in Holly’s apartment?!
With Bex’s bff heading for domestic bliss, some unwelcome changes in work, and now the arrival of eternally negative Louise, can Bex remain her usual chirpy self or will handbags at dawn, daytime and night-time too bring out a side to her she never knew existed?

For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Christie Barlow and Rosie Green.
(This is book 2 of a series but can be read on it’s own if you are so inclined!)

Here’s my review:

I love how Berni created two very different female characters,  Bex and Louise, and placed them in a flat together in a small town. The premise can be likened to my old science lessons as a child when the teacher would put two chemicals in a tube, tell us to stand well back and watch the chemicals go absolutely crazy when mixed together.

Bex is easygoing, likeable and she’s missing her old friend Holly. She loves making scrumptious cake and letting her hair down. On the other hand Louise is…well how can say it….umm…let’s just say one character refers to her as ‘the interesting one.’ Seriously I don’t know how Bex put up with Louise. This character, Louise, is bossy, demanding, uptight, very snooty and goes on about how unhealthy people eat a lot of the time as she’s obsessed with nutrition.

As you can imagine sparks fly between these two and I have to say Berni does a great job in capturing the friction between the two characters. My sympathy went out to Bex. My goodness that woman has patience!

I love how Berni extended her humour to the inhabitants of Abbeyglen too.

This was a giggle inducing read and one I highly recommend.

Purchase Link – http://mybook.to/TheGreatestOfEnemies20

Author Bio

When B R Maycock (Berni to all you lovely people!) isn’t dreaming up vibrant leads for romantic comedies, she’s ingesting books for her blog (brmaycock.wordpress.com/), in particular chick lit (her first love!) books, romantic comedies and thrillers. She can also be found playing footie or watching Marvel, DC or Star Wars movies and cartoons in Co. Westmeath, Ireland with her brilliantly out there husband, Keith, and their four epic little men.
Her debut ‘It Started With A Snub’ and Christmas romantic comedy ‘Snowday’ are available now on Amazon, as is Pushing Her Luck, the first of a series about AbbeyGlen Village, whose luck is about to change …
She has one goal and that’s simply to make readers smile and/ or laugh (a splutter rates highest;)).

Social Media Links:

BRMaycock’s book Blog https://brmaycock.wordpress.com
Twitter (@BRMaycock) – https://twitter.com/brmaycock?lang=en
Bookbub – https://www.bookbub.com/profile/b-r-maycock
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/brmaycock/
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/BRMaycockWriter/
Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14023632.B_R_Maycock

The Greatest of Enemies Full Tour Banner

Posted by

Still waiting for the Sleepless in Seattle film sequel. Romcom Author. Book Blogger. Mum of teens. Owned by a golden Labrador.

2 thoughts on “#BookReview The Greatest of Enemies @BRMaycock #Friendship

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.